Bootleg Nation

Bootleg Bonanza: Bruce Springsteen – Los Angeles, CA (08/20/81) – "As Dreams Don't Mean Nothing"


Bruce Springsteen
As Dreams Don’t Mean Nothing – A Night For The Vietnam Veterans
August 20, 1981
The Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA

Download MP3@192: Mediafire

Source: Audience
source: nakamichi cm300(cp2) > sony tcd5m
transfer from master cassettes
taper : bobb / markp
transfer: markp

Disc One:
01 Arena Announcement
02 Bruce Springsteen Intro
03 Bobby Muller Intro
04 Who’ll Stop The Rain*
05 Prove It All Night
06 The Ties That Bind
07 Darkness On The Edge Of Town
08 Intro / “Hold On To Yourself”
09 Johnny Bye Bye
10 Independence Day
11 Intro / “You End Up Trapped”
12 Trapped
13 Two Hearts
14 Out In The Street
15 The Promised Land
16 The River
17 Intro / “Dream That Won’t Die”
18 This Land Is Your Land
19 Badlands

Disc Two:
01 Thunder Road
02 Hungry Heart
03 You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
04 Cadillac Ranch
05 Sherry Darling
06 Jole Blon
07 Wreck On The Highway
08 Racing In The Street
09 Candy’s Room
10 Ramrod
11 Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)**

Disc Three:
01 Jungleland
02 Ballad Of Easy Rider
03 Born To Run
04 Detroit Medley (w/ I Hear A Train, You Can’t Sit Down, Sweet Soul Music, Shake)
05 Twist And Shout

06 Proud Mary – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 28, 1981.
07 Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos) – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 28, 1981.
08 Stolen Car – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 23, 1981.
09 Follow That Dream – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 21, 1981.
10 Jackson Cage – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 24, 1981.
11 I Fought The Law – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 28, 1981.
12 Quarter To Three – Sports Arena, Los Angeles, CA August 28, 1981.

* Beginning of “Who’ll Stop The Rain?” mixed with the (very bad) soundboard source.
** Very small skip in the beginning


To keep people from asking:
Since this ‘remaster’ is from MarkP’s master recording, this doesn’t have the cuts every other release has.
‘This Land Is Your Land’ which was missing from other versions, is complete on this one.
‘Twist & Shout’ was missing half the song – it’s complete on this one.
Only cut on this is in the beginning of “Who’ll Stop The Rain?”, which was on all the other version too. (Tried to fix it)
To sum it up, this is much better than all the old ‘releases’ of this legendary show.

“Only performance [ever] of Ballad Of Easy Rider.


October 12, 2013 - Posted by | Bootleg Bonanza, Bruce Springsteen, mp3 downloads, Music


  1. Any chance of part 2

    Comment by Roger | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  2. Oops. Try it now. Link should contain both parts now.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | October 14, 2013 | Reply

  3. Mat,
    one of the greatest Bruce shows ever, all the River era shows are great but for me ’81 has the extra magic factor, and this show is just special. Don’t often see this posted in lossless, i actually have it in flac from my days of raiding QualityBootz some years back. Could always get it to you after the pending Bob if you are keen enough and patient enough. By the way haven;t forgotten the Bob but the poat season Baseball is playing havoc with my overnight bandwidth (and sleep patterns too!)

    Comment by DylanDave | October 17, 2013 | Reply

  4. Got to agree with DylanDave, this is a magical show.
    Anybody comment on the sound quality?
    I’ve heard the show but I seem to remember the poor
    SQ of the version I had tended to outweigh the quality
    of the performance

    Thanks 🙂

    Comment by Tony | October 19, 2013 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: