Bootleg Nation

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Bob Dylan – A Town Without Pity: The Best of the London/Paris Residencies, 1990


Bob Dylan
Town Without Pity: The Best of the London/Paris Residencies, 1990

Download FLAC: Mediafire
Download MP3@320: Mediafire

01. Absolutely Sweet Marie (02-08)
02. Where Teardrops Fall (01-30)
03. You Angel You (02-08)
04. Hang Me, Oh Hang Me (02-08)
05. You’re A Big Girl Now (01-29)
06. All Along The Watchtower (01-29)
07. I Shall Be Released (01-29)
08. It’s Alright, Ma (02-07)
09. One Too Many Mornings (01-29)
10. Boots Of Spanish Leather (01-30)
11. Dark As A Dungeon (02-06)
12. Simple Twist Of Fate (01-30)
13. Ballad Of Hollis Brown (02-01)
14. Man In The Long Black Coat (01-30)
15. Disease Of Conceit (02-08)
16. Has Anybody Seen My Love?
17. Queen Jane Approximately (02-03)

These songs are all performances from Bob Dylan’s esteemed residencies in Paris and London during the winter of 1990. This was a very fruitful tour, as Dylan reinvented classic songs and sharpened his interpretation of newer releases.

Highlights include a rare airing of “You Angel You,” an electrified Civil War ballad, “Hang Me, Oh Hang Me,” an absolutely intense “It’s Alright Ma,” the mournful “Simple Twist Of Fate,” the ominous “Man In The Long Black Coat,” a piano-driven “Disease Of Conceit,” and one of my personal favorites, “Has Anybody Seen My Love.”

Several changes had occurred between the beginning of the Never-Ending Tour in 1988 and this series of concerts. Dylan’s voice had altered significantly, drawing away some of the power of those ’88 shows while offering an opportunity to sing with more nuance. You can really hear the singer reaching for now depths in “One Too Many Mornings,” and “Queen Jane Approximately.” Another major change was the inclusion of harmonica from 1989 on. Though my overall impression of harmonicas is not necessarily a positive one, it really adds a melodic quality to many of the tracks here, particularly “Youíre A Big Girl Now” and “One Too Many Mornings.”


September 20, 2014 - Posted by | Bob Dylan, Bootleg Bonanza, FLAC, mp3 downloads, Music


  1. I probably stole this from the Thousand Highways site. I don’t really remember. Whatever, its a cool little comp. I really should collect all the shows from this run.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | September 20, 2014 | Reply

  2. re Thousand Highways site. Collect em all before they go as that project has ended.

    Comment by Narrow Dog | September 21, 2014 | Reply

  3. These shows are at the core of my collection, really good memories too, including q’ing up for the tickets at 3 in the morning till sunrise with all the other crazy Bob heads and watching all the ‘straights’ heading for work in the morning rush hour with still a coup[le of hours to go till the ticket office opened. Crazy days drinkin’ in the Novotel bar with the ISIS crowd, swapping and haggling for tickets, meeting up with old friends and finallu getting the kind of Dylan gigs in london we’d been waiting about a decade for.

    Mat, I thoroughly recommend each and every night of both of these residencies to you. Every night was different and special in it’s own way (only wish i’d had a ticket for ’em all). The final night in Hammersmith was the most special of all – ‘Blonde on Blonde revisited’ as we referred to it at the time.
    These shows represent the culmination of a magic post ‘oh mercy’ period. The ‘fall’ US shows which preceeded were also very special in a slightly different way, check out the ‘Dust On The Hudson’ boot you grabbed from me. The Oh mercy material and the impassioned ‘Basement Tapes’ material being real highlights.

    IMHO this period represents a real performance peak helped in no small measure by the brilliant Christopher Parker on drume. IMO the greatest drummer Bob ever had!

    Comment by DylanDave | September 21, 2014 | Reply

  4. Mat

    Oh ps – just a though but this would be a really opportune time to post that ‘Acoustic London 90’ you got from me way back when.

    Comment by DylanDave | September 21, 2014 | Reply

  5. 2nd ps – Dylan/dead etc – check this out

    No idea whether this is the same as the CD/CDR boot issue i’ve always had – says it is from master cassette and seemingly not split into discs, so may be an upgrade i guess

    Mr ‘txtaper’ normally posts good stuff with good lineage, certainly knows his onions anyway

    on reflection, i think there may be one or two things on this which weren’t on my ‘complete rehearsals’ – oh well what’s another 2gb anyway!!

    Comment by DylanDave | September 21, 2014 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: