Bootleg Nation

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Jerry Garcia Band – Petaluma, CA (01/22/83)

jgb1983-01-22.poster

JERRY GARCIA BAND
Phoenix Theater
Petaluma CA
01-22-1983

Download FLAC/MP3: Mediafire

s1t01 How Sweet It Is
s1t02 Catfish John
s1t03 That’s What Love Will Make You Do
s1t04 Run for the Roses
s1t05 Deal

s2t01 Mission in the Rain
s2t02 The Harder They Come
s2t03 Simple Twist of Fate
s2t04 Dear Prudence
s2t05 Midnight Moonlight

Source: SBD > Source ID-106026, with AUD patch added.

Patch: Low-gen AUD for 0:00 > 1:25 Midnight Moonlight.

March 24, 2015 - Posted by | Bootleg Bonanza, FLAC, Jerry Garcia, mp3 downloads, Music

10 Comments »

  1. cleaning the bong for this one

    Comment by Jersey Tom | March 24, 2015 | Reply

  2. Its killer. Sound is fantastic and Jerry is on fire.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 24, 2015 | Reply

  3. thank you!

    Comment by zowie | March 25, 2015 | Reply

  4. Thanks Mat! My copy was missing the last two tracks for some weird reason..
    Jersey Tom, the bong will come in handy.. Inhale as the solo on Catfish John kicks in – a sweet, swampy exploration (I love the envelope guitar effect on this song – normally Jerry used it in funky tunes such as Shakedown, Estimated Prophet or Feel Like A Stranger, but it works really fine on C.John too I think)..

    Comment by nikos | March 25, 2015 | Reply

  5. Now, T H I S is NICE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Timmy | March 26, 2015 | Reply

  6. Isn’t it fantastic? When people recommended the 1983 shows I had my doubts. I’m much more of a 70s fan, but man oh man am I being proved wrong.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 26, 2015 | Reply

  7. Mat, I too thought myself a strictly 70s man, and I still am as far as the Grateful Dead are concerned (early 70s actually).. But it seems that Jerry found the right chemistry for the JGB in the early 80s – In my listening experience the best JGB is 1980-1983.. Thank you again for making this wonderful music available.

    Comment by nikos | March 26, 2015 | Reply

  8. 83′ is so fat ! Another one off my radar…thnx again!

    Comment by pig Street ! | March 27, 2015 | Reply

  9. I’m finding that out Nikos. A lot of my trouble with the Dead in the 80s has nothing to do with Garcia. I hate to slag on Brent, because he’s certainly a fine player and added a much needed vocal, but I tend to find his keys come on too thick. Its really that whole midi/synth thing going on in the 80s. Everybody was screwing around with the technology and it muddles with the clarity of the bands sound.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 27, 2015 | Reply

  10. For me the GD were just not the same when they came back from the break in 1976. The sets were tighter, more structured, the improvisational fire controlled and channelled. Just compare a “Playing In the Band” pre- and post-75. It’s a different, much tamer animal later. Also, as we know Jerry started doing hard drugs around this time, leading to his increasing detachment and physical/spiritual decline. By 1984 his body seems to have lost the power to sing properly. As for Brent, I too like his playing, but his singing and his songs brought the GD even closer to the mainstream than most older heads would like..

    Comment by nikos | March 28, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

