Bootleg Nation

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Jerry Garcia Band – Berkeley, CA (01/23/83)

jg83-11-23.gg

Jerry Garcia Band
Keystone; Berkeley, CA
1/23/83
Set 1 SBD, Set 2 Aud

Download FLAC/SHN: Mediafire

Set 1
Source: SBD>MC>PCM>DAT>WAV>SHN.

Disc 1 – Set 1
01 Sugaree [13:58]
02 I Second That Emotion [09:28]
03 Let It Rock [07:30]
04 Love In The Afternoon [08:14]
05 Run For The Roses [05:03]
Total time: 44:15

Comments: Very clean SBD recording.

DAT transfer via D.Minches. Minor digital editing (DC Offset correction) performed using SF6 > tracking (cdwav editor) > sector boundaries confirmed (shntool) > (SHN(shorten 3.4) > FTP via C.Ladner.

MisSHN in the Rain, 10/03.

Flac encoding notes:
All processing with Trader’s Little Helper
Shn – st5 generated
Shn > Flac ( level 8 )
Flac – st5 generated and matched to Shn st5

Set 2
A:C>CD
Taped by Andrew Jones (Nak 100s > Sony TC-D5M), transferred from the master cassettes va Nak DR380 > DA-P1 > ZA-2 > Sound Forge 4.5 > WAV (no DAE) > CD x 1 > EAC > SHN.

Extraction and .shn encoding using EAC and mkwACT
by jjoops@attbi.com. Proper sector boundaries
verified using shntool.

Single Disc [53:45]
Set II
1. [0:39] Roadrunner [7:35] [0:17]
2. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door [12:23] [0:04]
3. Mystery Train [6:59] [0:03]
4. Dear Prudence// [13:32#] ->
5. Tangled Up in Blue [12:05] [0:06]

Notes:
The set I masters were destroyed in a fire.
d1t01 Dear Prudence cuts out (tape flip, a few seconds missing).

Flac encoding notes:
All processing with Trader’s Little Helper
Shn – st5 generated
Shn > Flac ( level 8 )
Flac – st5 generated and matched to Shn st5

March 27, 2015 - Posted by | Bootleg Bonanza, FLAC, Jerry Garcia, mp3 downloads, Music

12 Comments »

  1. Mat, I have the first set for this. Would you like me to post links here?

    Comment by nikos | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  2. The audience source? Sure if you like.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  3. Here are links for set I. Unfortunately I don’t have any info on derivation, technical details, etc. But it sure sounds like a soundboard to me – or if it’s an audience tape it is an exceptionally good one. Let me know whether you think it is aud or sbd!

    http://www10.zippyshare.com/v/FBtEyjqa/file.html
    http://www10.zippyshare.com/v/vMcTQRmK/file.html

    Comment by nikos | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  4. Thank you. I actually have the SBD for set one, but only Aud for set II. I’ll give yours a listen and see which sounds better.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  5. Oops, sorry, I uploaded the wrong set! I meant to upload set II of course! But I do have the second set from the same source as the first, so let me know if you need it.

    Comment by nikos | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  6. Actually, forget it Mat – I listened again to “my” set II and it is probably NOT the same source as my set I, so it should be the one you have. Sorry, not thinking clearly today!

    Comment by nikos | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  7. thanks!

    Comment by zowie | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  8. I wondered if you weren’t confused, but I didn’t want to call you out about it, especially since you were gonna send me music 😉

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  9. You all have your head up your ass, or at least your frickin’ ears. this isn’t very “clean” audio-wise. The guitar is sent way too low in the horrendous mixing, here.

    Comment by Timmy | March 29, 2015 | Reply

  10. I’ve not actually given this show a good listen so I can’t make claims about how well it sounds one way or another.

    I am bad at not always making clear in my posts when its actually me commenting on the show or the original uploader. In this case the claims of it being “clean” come from the original uploader. Sorry for any confusion.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | March 30, 2015 | Reply

  11. The soundboard sounds really fine. The audience obviously has some limitations, but I think it is fine too – at least eminently listenable. I’ve heard much, much worse.

    Comment by nikos | March 30, 2015 | Reply

  12. Sound is really not an issue here, both sources are very full. Can’t thank you enough for these Jerry shows, my favorite era

    Comment by Jersey Tom | March 31, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

