Bootleg Nation

Lossless Bootleg Bonanza: Grateful Dead – Hollywood, FL (05/23/69)

gd69-05-23-Seminole-Indian

Grateful Dead
5-23-69
Seminole Indian Village

Download Source 1: FLAC, MP3@320

Download Source 2: SHN, MP3@320

Source 1: Reel>PCM>DAT
conversion:Tascam DA-20>Audio Magic Presto>Prodif Plus>Soundforge>cdwav>shn
Source 2: SBD>MC>R>C>D>CD>EAC>SHN

Source 1 Setlist:
1.Morning Dew
2.Me and My Uncle
3.Dark Star>
4.St. Stephen>
5.The Eleven//

Source 2 Setlist:
101-d1t01 – Hard to Handle
102-d1t02 – Morning Dew
103-d1t03 – Me & My Uncle
104-d2t01 – Dark Star–>
105-d2t02 – St. Stephen–>
106-d2t03 – The Eleven–>
107-d2t04 – Turn on Your Lovelight

//indicates cut
conversion by phunk1@aol.com

April 27, 2015 - Posted by | Bootleg Bonanza, FLAC, Music, The Grateful Dead

25 Comments »

  1. This is an experiment. I’m trying out Amazon storage for a three month trial. If it works like I hope it will I’ll lay my money down and we’ll never have to worry about all the files getting deleted again.

    Please let me know if you are able to download the FLAC file and how you find it in general. If it works well for everybody then I’ll upload the MP3s and start using the service for awhile and test out all the bugs.

    If it doesn’t work, well it was worth the try.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 27, 2015 | Reply

  2. Amazon worked fine for me – fast, no hassles.

    Comment by nikos | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  3. D/Led 241M in FIVE minutes! That is the fastest D/L I’ve ever gotten. Now, if only I didn’t have RT4.2…
    How about “very fast, no hassles”.

    Comment by Seth Hollander | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  4. A bit slow for me (a couple of hours, but it’s slow where I am). Otherwise no problem. Quick easy to use and no waiting.

    Comment by ND | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  5. the download was very fast. However, the files came out as exe files that don’t run on mac. Is this particular to this show? I’ve never encountered this problem before.

    Thanks for all your hard work and great shares!

    Comment by marius sanchez | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  6. Marius that should not have happened. I have a Mac myself so I definitely wouldn’t have uploaded an .exe file. I actually came to Amazon because someone else sent me a file via Amazon and it worked great on my Mac. When you downloaded did you click on the file and then the download button at the bottom of the screen? If not how did you download the file?

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  7. nice & quick, no issues

    Comment by Jersey Tom | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  8. works great, fast and efficient.

    Comment by arusha | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  9. Very fast & very easy, less than 3 minutes. Thank you very much, I can’t get enough 69 Dead.

    Comment by Bob W | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  10. D/L’ed the file in 6 min’s. BUT —> problem is it is a SHNF-OCD file. I don’t know what that is, never had it before, and am not able to open / unzip it. that’s weird. NOT good, know what I mean… Any thoughts? Thanx for all up to now!

    Comment by Timmy | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  11. I think that’s just a Shorten or SHN file. SHN is very similar to FLAC in that its compressed, but lossy. MKW will extract it to WAV files on a PC or XACT will on a Mac. I’m sure there is other software that will do the same.

    If you normally download my MP3s then don’t worry about it as I’m about to upload the MP3 files for this show.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  12. Hmm…. Couldn’t open ZIP after trying 4 different ZIP opening programs. Just errors and declarations that the ZIP file may be damaged… (Mac OS 10.6.8, D/Led with FireFox, tried opening with Archive Utility, 7zX, iZIP, and an old copy of StuffitExpander.)

    Comment by Seth Hollander | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  13. Weird, Seth, I don’t know what to tell you. I just uploaded the MP3 file and included a link. Would you mind trying that and seeing if you get results?

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  14. Cheers Mat, I’m back in simple ‘punter’ mode, especially where the Dead are concerned

    few points of interest re above (God I’m boring myself already!!)

    1 speed in UK (650KB) approx equiv to Mediafire, slower than zippy, better than most
    2 extraction fine with windows (inbuilt extractor) and winrar
    3 shn is ‘shorten’ actually uncompressed archive format which only removes ‘dead’ space from the file. Predates FLAC ess efficient and can’t be converted for playback in real time. Also predates re-emergence of Apple, Common with Dead archives since Dead heads were early adoptors of all this kind of stuff. Not popular with Apple users as one of the many things a mac seemingly can’t do! presumably there is some kind of utility somewhere (prob costs like everything for Apple!!) seen many grumpy complaints about shn files from mac users on blogs etc etc.
    4 general point that when a seemingly correct file name has a .exe suffix it is usually the hosting site trying to put their own d/l manager on your computrer via the back door. Usually just a case of unticking a box somewhere on the page. Didn’t see any of that stuff here though.

    yawn yawn

    Hope this helps someone somewhere

    ps can’t you get TLH for MAC, best method for SHN to WAV

    Our host is a mac man. Over to you Mat

    Comment by DylanDave | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  15. mas JGB!!!

    Comment by Jersey Tom | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  16. I use xACT on my Mac. I’m pretty sure its free or possibly really cheap. It would have to be because I don’t spend freely when it comes to those sorts of things. It does pretty much any conversion you’d want (well except for Windows Media Files for obvious reasons.) It handles SHN files like a charm.

    I’m going to make a new post now for discussions about this new Amazon thing as I wanna make sure everybody sees it (there might be some who skipped the comments here as they have no need for the Dead.)

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  17. Alright added a new post with some discussion points. Also a new source for this show with some extra songs.

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 28, 2015 | Reply

  18. the new FLACset ZIP D/Led and opened fine for me.

    Comment by Seth Hollander | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  19. Awesome. Thanks Seth

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  20. So of the 2 sources which one is the better……….?

    Comment by Tom | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  21. Re: Mat Brewster

    thanks for your reply. When I originally downloaded the file the only version that was available was the SHNF-OCD file. It showed up as exe which I found strange.

    No problems at all with the MP3 links provided since then.

    Thanks again!

    Comment by marius sanchez | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  22. Hi Matt,
    Long time user. First time caller. Love what your doing. Your blog has brightened my life through recent challenging times. All this ’69 Dead is manna. And love the unusual posts (i.e. Coltrane ’62!)

    Having some trouble w/new system. Everything seems to dl just fine. I normally make a specific folder for each show, copy the dl files into that and then copy the files from the new folder into iTunes. Neither the shn or flac seems to want to cooperate.

    I got xACT but not sure how to operate. Any advice you can provide would be cherished.

    Thanks again for EVERYTHING!

    Comment by Toby | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  23. Also, I use a MacBook Pro w/updated Yosemite OS

    Comment by Toby | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  24. Sorry for the trouble Toby. Have you downloaded FLAC or SHN files before? Or do you normally do just the MP3s? If you normally stick to MP3s then I wouldn’t even worry about the others. In fact I’ve posted the MP3s to this show up above and will continue posting MP3s in the future.

    If you do normally grab the FLACs can you describe exactly what the problem is? Are you getting error messages? Or something else?

    Comment by Mat Brewster | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  25. Heya Matt,
    MP3s work great. Thanks again for all you do!
    T

    Comment by Toby | April 29, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

